Spirit
Spirit

Spirit Safety Meetings

KSHSAA Spirit Safety Meetings 2016-2017
Are Required For All Head Coaches "Annual" requirement

  • Head Spirit Coaches/Advisors (grades 7-12) shall attend a mandatory meeting annually, intended to promote and provide fundamentals of the activity and participant safety.
  • Face-to-face spirit rules meetings will be conducted at the KSHSAA Summer Cheer/Dance Conferences and Fall Spirit Spreader Clinics.
  • Spirit Coaches/Advisors shall complete a test with information provided and discussed at the spirit safety meeting.
  • The KSHSAA strongly recommends head spirit coaches attend a face-to-face safety rules meeting if their team performs stunts during the school year.
  • Head Spirit Coaches/Advisors assuming positions after the scheduled meetings are concluded or who have been granted special permission by their administration may meet the above requirement by taking an online meeting which will be available August 22 until October 9.
  • Schools failing to submit the mandatory spirit safety test will be listed in the Activities Journal and subject to a $25 penalty.

Spirit Safety Meeting
Agenda
Spirit Safety Meetings
Dates and Sites
KSHSAA Bylaw, Article XIV -
Approval of Events

KSHSAA Rules
· Rule 7 - Physical Examination
· Rules 12-18 - Student Eligibility
· Rule 47 - Spirit
· Rule 52 - Citizenship/Sportsmanship

NFHS Spirit Rules:
· Safety Limitations
· Major Rule Changes

Spirit groups roles:
· Support Groups
· Competition Groups

Code of conduct and due process
Share ideas and challenges
Summer Meetings - 2:00 PM (Unless noted)
Monday, June 13 – Butler Community College
Tuesday, June 21 – Butler Community College
Sunday, June 26 - Kansas Wesleyan Univ.
Wednesday, July 6 - Kansas Wesleyan Univ.
Thursday, July 14 - Kansas Wesleyan Univ.
Sunday, July 17 - Coffeyville Comm. College
Tuesday, July 19 - UPDATE – El Dorado MS Commons

Fall Meetings - 9:15 AM - 11:15 AM
Monday, August 29 – Salina-Kansas Wesleyan Univ.
Tuesday, August 30 – Valley Center HS
Wednesday, August 31 – Dodge City Civic Center
Thursday, September 1 – Colby Comm. Building
Friday, September 2 – Hoisington HS
Tuesday, September 6 – Rossville HS
Wednesday, September 7 – Chanute HS
Thursday, September 8 – Olathe Northwest HS
Friday, September 9 – Highland Comm. College

 

Untitled Document