Spirit
Spirit

Spirit Safety Meetings

KSHSAA Spirit Safety Meetings 2018-2019
Are Required For All Head Coaches "Annual" requirement

  • Head Spirit Coaches/Advisors (grades 7-12) shall attend a mandatory meeting annually, intended to promote and provide fundamentals of the activity and participant safety.
  • Face-to-face spirit rules meetings will be conducted at the KSHSAA Summer Cheer/Dance Conferences and Fall Spirit Spreader Clinics.
  • Spirit Coaches/Advisors shall complete a test with information provided and discussed at the spirit safety meeting.
  • The KSHSAA strongly recommends head spirit coaches attend a face-to-face safety rules meeting if their team performs stunts during the school year.
  • Head Spirit Coaches/Advisors assuming positions after the scheduled meetings are concluded or who have been granted special permission by their administration may meet the above requirement by taking an online meeting which will be available August 13 until October 7.
  • Schools failing to submit the mandatory spirit safety test will be listed in the Activities Journal and subject to a $25 penalty.

Spirit Safety Meeting
Agenda
Spirit Safety Meetings
Dates and Sites
KSHSAA Bylaw, Article XIV -
Approval of Events

KSHSAA Rules
· Rule 7 - Physical Examination
· Rules 12-18 - Student Eligibility
· Rule 47 - Spirit
· Rule 52 - Citizenship/Sportsmanship

NFHS Spirit Rules:
· Safety Limitations
· Major Rule Changes

Spirit groups roles:
· Support Groups
· Competition Groups

Code of conduct and due process
Share ideas and challenges
Summer Meetings - 2:00 PM (Unless noted)
Tuesday, June 5 – Kansas Wesleyan Univ.
Monday, June 11 – Kansas Wesleyan Univ.
Tuesday, June 12 - Butler Community College
Monday, June 18 - Butler Community College
Tuesday, June 26 - Kansas Wesleyan Univ.
Wednesday, July 11 - Coffeyville Comm. College
Monday, July 16 - Butler Community College

Fall Meetings - 9:15 AM - 11:15 AM
Monday, August 27 – Salina-Kansas Wesleyan Univ.
Tuesday, August 28 – Valley Center HS
Wednesday, August 29 – Dodge City Civic Center
Thursday, August 30 – Colby Comm. Building
Friday, August 31 – Hoisington HS
Tuesday, September 4 – Rossville HS
Wednesday, September 5 – Chanute HS
Thursday, September 6 – TBD
Friday, September 7 – Highland Comm. College

 

Untitled Document